E-Mail 10/21/2013

Today I’m in Cape Coast and we just got finished playing ball. Football. I didn’t get to play as long as I wanted to but I did come out of it with a hurt ankle so that means I must have played a bit at least. We’re pulling out our sub today and wouldn’t you know it no one can pull out they’re full money. Oh well thats about usual so no worries. It’s actually really sweet that Corbin and I will be giving our talks on the same day. That’s tight. I kind of with that I would come home a bit sooner to go and help on some of these projects but sounds like you guys will be finished soon. As for my companion. He lives in Ogden and was adopted from Russia. He’s a good worker and a good missionary. I don’t really have to worry about him and take care of him at all so I’m cool with him. As to answer mom’s question on how mission has built me it kind of goes back to what she said. The basics. The lesson in sunday school yesterday was “how do we become spiritually self-reliant?” Well that’s pretty much what mission is. It forces you to go over the basics over and over and over again. To understand them at a deeper level than before. To make sure that when you go home you won’t just fall away but that instead of relying on your parents for spiritual strength you can give that to others. You literally become a light to others. That actually had me pondering when going on the unbearable tro tro ride down to cape this morning. I was thinking of different directions to go when I come home and for the few that I’m considering it would put me in situations where I would probably be relying on myself for the most part for spiritual things. That’s what mission is for.  I’ve been working just the same and we’re actually getting quite a few investigators. We’ll see how many of them are ready by November. It should be one or two. The others I’m positive will make it there in the next little while. All the while Sedem the Rc from a few weeks  ago completely humbled me yesterday. We went in to go and teach him about the priesthood and we got to how it’s about service and he just shared an experience he had that I hadn’t realized. He was going to some pentecostal church before and when he started coming to latter-day saints the elders of that church started asking “why, Why are you going to that church?” Even them they got on the topic of service. In the course of it Sedem brought up this question ” If any of you goes to help on the farm will you be ok if there’s nothing to eat?” They all said no. That’s their payment. If there’s no food then their actually being paid. He said “these Latter-day saints elders came and said don’t worry yourself for food we will come just to help and to serve.” The Pentecost elders said he was lying first. Then tried to make excuses because we were foreigners. He told them no they did it because it is about service. I was just like whoa. I didn’t realize we had that kind of impact I guess. Just to go without the expectation of food. It didn’t really seem like all that big a deal to me. It really humbled me. Aside from that we’re beginning to get more members involved especially since many of the people we’re teaching are kids. That’s nearly impossible otherwise. A sweet family that seems to be coming along pretty strong. One man had a dream and his wife readily believes the things we have taught already.For the man I think he’ll be in the next baptism very soon. As for everything else who cares it’s of the world. I’m just trying to make my things last till the final day. That’s all for now. Talk to ya later. Oh and what topic for the homecoming talk?

From the Is am Bestest,

Elder Holder

Leave a Reply

