Email 10/15/2013

Dear Family,

 Sorry for last week. We went into town and all that but we were unable to email due to there being only one cafe and it’s connection is terrible. Did I also mention of four computers only two were working.  So this week is my time to shine.  Just a fast update. I may have been freaking out about the whole last transfer thing. Being two weeks in I’m still able to work and keep going and keep busy thank goodness. Thanks for the advice Kylie. Things are going well with my new companion and we’re at the very least getting things set up for a few baptisms to be happening in the next few months. I’m hoping for this month but things would have to work out just right for that to happen. I think more than likely probably after I go. We’ve gotten a bunch of referrals as of late. The funny thing about that is some of them are people we’ve been seeing for a long time. We trying to work with the members on them but it hasn’t really set in that they should be there helping us teach the people that they have given us to teach. We’ve even been able to get a few more people in Kenkuase finally. It’s taken a bit but they’re beginning to come. Along with trying to keep everything straight and going from here to there for whatever meeting things are well. I noticed this week that a lot of things that I studied have come up in other ways these last few days. I studied the purpose of callings using Moses as an example and how callings aren’t just so we can help others but also to build and teach ourselves. That came up in church on sunday and I gave a talk on it and the Branch President even was told to stress the importance of callings for people who want to go to the temple. Then I studied through galatians and in chapter two it talks about Paul, who I guess got in an argument with Peter, was in the right even though he was the junior apostle. Even our leaders who have been called and ordained of God can make mistakes and I think that matches what you said in your email. We really need to set a realistic standard for our leaders. They aren’t perfect they’re just trying to be. Just like us.What else? Those were the big things. We had a health meeting in Cape Coast today hence I’m emailing you right now. In it Pres. gave us a good instruction on the Book of Mormon. I’ll admit it seemed like it was more for missionaries to build there testimonies in it and use it more effectively for themselves than for teaching investigators. I enjoyed it. I also got interviewed for the temple today. Apparently my temple recommend expired two months ago and I didn’t notice so I got a temporary one until I go home whenever that is. Not too much else to report on. Last Friday when going down Kenkuase hill which is hardcore and in of itself, my back tire blew. Guess who walked the 50 min. to and hour back to nuamakrom. That’s right, Elder Lucas and his companion. It was good though. It reminded me of Mario. A straight path with bush on each side and you have to dodge holes and water and stuff. At one point I was playing the theme song in my head. I’m getting a cramp in my hand so I’ll write some more stuff next week. I’ll be back in Cape on monday. Talk to ya’ll then. Latas family,

Loves,

Elder Holder

Leave a Reply

