E-Mail 9/23/2013

Dear Family,

 This past week has been pretty good. Not to say that the last few weeks haven’t been good but this last seemed more. As I’ve tried to clean up my language and to be more obedient to the mission rules which was an assignment given from Mama Shulz I have noticed this past week that there does seem to be a different spirit around. Even as I have been praying most nights to be more humble and patient I can see the difference. It’s like I have more access to the spirit than I did before. I’m not saying I’m perfect on the rules and I accidentally say bro or dude but things are looking up. This past week we’ve had sweet lessons with a few people. One of them is Sis. Beatrice who should be getting baptized this week. She doesn’t speak english and obviously we don’t speak the twi very well. Even with that as we taught her the Gospel of Jesus Christ she was able to get it rather quickly. She would say bits and pieces in Twi and I could tell that she understood all the things that we were teaching. She knew the process of the gospel and what it is for already. It was just like “whoa”. Another I could say was Bro. Kweku. We just met him yesterday while going to another appointment. He told us to go come. Our appointment failed so we went and came. We sat and got into the Restoration with him. Near the end I just felt prompted to share 3 Nephi 11 to explain how the Book of Mormon can be a testimony of Jesus Christ and therefore as a testimony for everything else that we teach. He brought up the question so “If that’s what you teach what does that mean for the rest of us?” For those who don’t go to the church. I guess that might not quite make sense to you but I could tell that he really understood what we said about the Restoration. What it means if Joseph Smith is a prophet and the priesthood is back on the earth. We told him that it isn’t us to decide for him but that it’s something that he will have to figure out on his own. Asking to be patient and humble is making me struggle more I feel like. Then something comes and I just say to myself “C’mon, don’t worry about it.” Thank goodness part of our reward is given from our desires. Aside from all that we’re about to hit another transfer and another set of good missionaries are going home. This mission is changing fast. I’m going to miss those guys but I know I’ll be seeing them soon. Which is my next thing. I don’t know how I’m going to react to next transfer. It’s really the final countdown. I don’t know if I’ll just go off the deep end or just tank. I honestly can’t tell what I will do. It’s kind of freaking me out. For the most part I can predict what I will do in general. but now I don’t know. It’s crazy sauce. For now that’s all I have for you. Next week we’re trying to get some kind of party put together for transfers so possibly next monday you’ll here from me or tuesday. Just wait and see like always.

From this your son,

Elder Holder

Leave a Reply

