E-Mail and Photo 9/17/2012

Dear family,

 So I decided to just give you an update then I’ll tag my testimony on the rest of this email. I didn’t know the deadline was so soon so I was putting it off until I could email. Bakaano is doing good. I’m still getting used to it I’ll admit. I have to figure out how to work in a smaller area. Here when an appointment fails I can go to the other side of the area in 20-30 minutes and it definitely did not work that way in kojo bedu. People here are more ready to let you serve them though which is nice. You don’t have to constantly fight someone to serve them. The branch even though it’s small does have some powerful members and a serious branch mission leader. His name is Jesse and he also helps to take care of the apartments for the missionaries in here. This last week we have working with a recent convert Daniel to get him coming to church. He’s been inviting his friends to come listen and even to church but then he doesn’t come. If we get him to come then the friends seem to come. That’s how it worked out yesterday. Him and two others of his friends that we’re teaching came. Our lessons went  a bit down because we had a mission conference. The couple missionaries came and checked our apartment to see if it’s clean or not. Sister Asay completely pwned us. We all thought that we did pretty good but she rated us at spirit prison. She came down like a hammer. Struck the death blow to our apartment. We were all disappointed because we actually did clean. The apartment is the oldest in the mission and well ya, that’s our excuse. The other reason we didn’t have as many lessons is because the Ap’s did some weird thing. They asked us to go to a baptism that wasn’t really planned for them. They had a candidate who was ready but she’s going to school soon so they wanted to rush her to baptism. No one in the branch really knew about it. So we cleared our schedule to help out with that only for it to be cancelled like an hour before. So we had to go scramble for those people we cancelled with. Then a less active person ended up in the hospital yesterday. She gave birth and needed a c-section. I guess the stitches or whatever opened up and she started squirting water from her stomach. We got there and she was really scared. We gave her a blessing and did our best to help her. I think she still ended up scared though. It made me think how we shouldn’t fear anything. Just because of the promises that have been made to us. We need not fear. Especially latter day saints. Of all people we should fear the least because we know what happens after this life. We’ve made those promises the only reason to fear is if we haven’t kept ours. I wonder if that’s why she was so scared. Because she hadn’t been 100% on her baptismal covenants. Just a thought.  Anyways I gotta write a few others so I’ll leave it here to write my testimony, Your beloved son.
Elder Holder

 As I think now I’ve only officially been in the church for a little more than two years. I’ve seen the good and I’ve seen the difference between being a part of this gospel and someone else’s. Sometimes people think back to an important point in their life and ask did I make the right choice. I can say that the life of a member of the Church of Latter-Day Saints is the best life you can have. I noticed the difference when switching between my parents homes when I was teenager. The difference comes close to day and night. The happiness of one was far better than the other. I’ve noticed at each stage of my conversion the happiness that I had. Living in LDS home. Finally reading the Book of Mormon and just coming to know that it is true, and finally being baptized. All these things made me happy all of them pushed me forward to do more, to be more then I was before. I know this church is one church on earth that is supported by Jesus Christ himself. No other church can say that. This is the only church of which I will belong to because I know of the blessings and promises that I can make in it. With all sincerity of heart I invite all to come and see and find out for themselves. In these things I say in the name of Jesus Christ , Amen.

Elder Holder’s Mission Conference – He is near top center in the photo

Leave a Reply

