E-Mail 8/20/2012

Dear Family,

Everything started turning around this past week. Stuff just started
working out I guess. Ransford is still coming along and we’re having
his interview this week. We’re just hoping that he’s repentant which
seems to be coming with his understanding of the commandments. I don’t
think we’ll have too much issue with him. We haven’t been walking as
far because we’re focusing on one part of our area right now. We
haven’t been going from end to the other of our massive area. There
are a few people I’m a little disappointed in. We have some less
actives who were starting to get active again and now it seems they’ve
stopped progressing. Some investigators and RC that are having
troubles coming to church. Other than that I’ve been pretty happy this
past week. I noticed on thursday or friday that something was wrong
with my body but I couldn’t really say what was wrong so I didn’t call
Sis. Shulz. Then on Saturday it started off the same but sent to the
service project. The other elders in my district invited us over for a
birthday feast. Which was really good. It was a breakfast burrito type
thing. As we went through the day I was just getting more and more
sore.  Ended up having to talk to some very difficult guys. The kind
that will talk for 20 min. but when you want to speak they’ll still
cut you off. About half way through I just started looking for
chastising scriptures but wasn’t really able to get the guy to read
it. They avoided what little questions we were able to ask and tried
twisting around what other things we said. Whatevs you can’t help
people like that. I did annoy one of the guys though. I kept trying to
get him to come ecc. 5:3. It would’ve pretty much called him a fool
but to no avail. Found out he was a teacher and I think that was part
of the reason I annoyed him. He didn’t like that a kid wasn’t
listening to his every word and command. I noticed this especially
when I told them they didn’t understand the bible as well as they
think. That they are the ones who are ever learning. He cut me off
right after that. The cool part of this experience was that as we were
talking to these guys I wasn’t sore and didn’t have a headache. But as
soon as headed to the chapel for a meeting it came back. Then I
prepared a lesson afterwards being sore and eating my CRAVERS COOKIES.
Dang straight I’m so glad you remembered how much I love those things
and they are too delicious.  The next day was missionary sunday. All
the full-time missionaries matched. Long sleeves and Ghana cape coast
ties. We actually looked pretty good. For sacrament I gave a talk but
had to shorten it a little bit because the first speaker took way too
much time. Even Elder abioye had to cut like half talk out. But people
really enjoyed the missionary talks. I honestly thought mine fell a
little flat but people came up to me saying they wanted to take notes
and stuff so I guess I did well. Then the next was I taught the young
men. We kind of had a theme of letting your light shine forth. I tied
it into the priesthood and how for aaronic priesthood they need to be
seen. I did an example with some flashlights. One was covered by a cup

and the other was pointed down. It represented them and what we
sometimes do with our light. Then i didnt make the lesson long enough
so the YM pres. kind of went over some things with the lesson then we
wrapped up.  I haven’t really had any appetite the last few days. but
all else is good. Tomorrow Mission pres. is coming for district
meeting and then we got a few more mission things the next few weeks.
I had a thought yesterday the kind of sacrifice the atonement had to
be. Tell me what you think of it. In Alma it’s described as an
infinite and eternal sacrifice. We know that time for the most part is
measured unto man. D+C 19 also tells us that Endless is God’s name
along with Eternal I think. The atoning sacrifice didn’t have to be
concerned with the timing but the quality of the sacrifice. The
sacrifice had to be of someone who had attained Godhood. Jesus Christ
is that someone. Well just a thought. Thanks for all the birthday
wishes and packages. I’ll talk to you guys soon next week.
Your beloved son,
Elder Holder

Leave a Reply

